Built to Last: The Taft Historic House at 200
March 27–August 16, 2020 | Sinton Gallery
Explore the history of downtown Cincinnati’s oldest surviving wooden residence still in its original location. The Baum-Longworth-Sinton-Taft house turns 200 this year! Constructed around 1820 by entrepreneur Martin Baum, the National Historic Landmark became a public museum in 1932 to house the exceptional art collection of its final residents, Charles Phelps Taft and Anna Sinton Taft.
In Baum’s time, the spacious private villa named Belmont Square was situated at the eastern edge of the fledgling city. As Cincinnati’s central business district rapidly grew to encompass the area around it, the mansion likewise expanded. Beginning soon after it was built, a succession of socially and politically prominent occupants—including Nicholas Longworth, a lawyer, abolitionist, winemaker, and art patron, and David Sinton, an iron magnate and real-estate investor—renovated the original square dwelling to accommodate their needs. Trace the building’s story in this exhibition, which features a scale model of the beloved architectural jewel.